CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 6559 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Question Surface face normal direction

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
HaiderOfSweden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18.Oct.2011
Location: Sweden
Using: Revit, AutoCAD, 3dsMax, Rhino
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HaiderOfSweden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Question Surface face normal direction
    Posted: 18.Feb.2017 at 14:19
Hi!

I link AutoCAD stuff in 3dsMax on daily basis. The models are created in AutoCAD and rendered in Max.

Sometimes, the linked mesh has its faces oriented in the wrong direction. In 3dsMax, there is a modifier called Normals that lets you Flip all normals or Unify them.

How do I flip the normal direction?
For reference, in Rhino (which also is a CAD software) there is a command called DIR (http://docs.mcneel.com/rhino/5/help/en-us/commands/dir.htm)
Back to Top
Vladimir Michl View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

CAD Studio a.s.

Joined: 26.Jul.2007
Location: Czech Republic
Using: Autodesk software
Status: Offline
Points: 1684
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vladimir Michl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20.Feb.2017 at 13:07
Vladimir Michl (moderator)
CAD Studio - www.cadstudio.cz - Autodesk reseller
Back to Top
HaiderOfSweden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18.Oct.2011
Location: Sweden
Using: Revit, AutoCAD, 3dsMax, Rhino
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HaiderOfSweden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23.Feb.2017 at 14:03
Thank you Vladimir!

I tried this on polygon meshes and it works just the way I asked.

However, the issue I have is on solids/surfaces, so how can I use it here?
The command seems only to work on 3d faces.
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6614
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23.Feb.2017 at 14:52
I think this can be accomplished in Inventor.  Search on "reverse normal direction of translated face or body" for further information.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
HaiderOfSweden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18.Oct.2011
Location: Sweden
Using: Revit, AutoCAD, 3dsMax, Rhino
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HaiderOfSweden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23.Feb.2017 at 15:37
Originally posted by John Connor John Connor wrote:

I think this can be accomplished in Inventor.  Search on "reverse normal direction of translated face or body" for further information.

Thanks. We don't have Inventor at the office just now, but maybe at some point. If it opens and saves DWG natively, this would be a acceptable detour to fix and then save and continue in AutoCAD. Otherwise, I could as well use 3dsMax to fix the normals, and re-export.


But I'll wait to hear if someone hopefully knows an AutoCAD way for solids/surfaces similar to the first suggestion that was for 3d faces.
Back to Top
Vladimir Michl View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

CAD Studio a.s.

Joined: 26.Jul.2007
Location: Czech Republic
Using: Autodesk software
Status: Offline
Points: 1684
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vladimir Michl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24.Feb.2017 at 09:11
You can explode more complex objects to 3D faces.
Vladimir Michl (moderator)
CAD Studio - www.cadstudio.cz - Autodesk reseller
Back to Top
HaiderOfSweden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18.Oct.2011
Location: Sweden
Using: Revit, AutoCAD, 3dsMax, Rhino
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HaiderOfSweden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24.Feb.2017 at 10:41
Originally posted by Vladimir Michl Vladimir Michl wrote:

You can explode more complex objects to 3D faces.

Please have a look at this DWG
https://www.dropbox.com/s/kv50hyq08zi0ayi/Surfaces.dwg?dl=0
(I don't know how to attach - if someone would please tell me how, I can attach the file here for future reference)

Colors:
Green: Regular surfaces.
Yellow: When I exploded the surfaces, they turned into regions, not 3d faces.
Red: The problematic surfaces, ie need their faces to be flipped. I can see that the faces are flipped when I export this to 3dsMax.

See if it works for you and thank you in advance.
Back to Top
HaiderOfSweden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18.Oct.2011
Location: Sweden
Using: Revit, AutoCAD, 3dsMax, Rhino
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HaiderOfSweden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Mar.2017 at 14:09
Did anyone have the time to check the attached file?

I didn't manage to explode to a 3D face, it rather turned into something else.
Back to Top
HaiderOfSweden View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18.Oct.2011
Location: Sweden
Using: Revit, AutoCAD, 3dsMax, Rhino
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HaiderOfSweden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26.Aug.2017 at 23:05
In case anyone else stumbles into this matter, I solved it by rebuilding the surfaces.
Planar surface can be exploded and output lines. A surface can be built from them with SURFNETWORK.
After exploding the rounded corner, it can be rebuild with Loft with Guide Curves.

If we wanted a command similar to Rhinos FLIP, I think it has to be programmed in .NET or similar.
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 858
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27.Aug.2017 at 21:07
Hello HaiderOfSweden, why can't you render ( and other things ) directly with AutoCAD ?
You can render anyway with simple colors even  if you don't affect a material to your solids.
If you affect a material it can be smarter...


Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 27.Aug.2017 at 21:07
Philippe JOSEPH
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,062 seconds.