CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 4607 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

view11.vlx

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
genbel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01.Dec.2013
Location: Italy
Using: autocad 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote genbel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: view11.vlx
    Posted: 21.Mar.2017 at 06:33
good morning
is the first time I write here
I can politely ask for more information about what makes view11.vlx
when I give view11 command on the command line you ask me monitor sizes in inches
and nothing else

Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2015, AutoCAD 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6350
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21.Mar.2017 at 10:39
Where did you find this lisp routine?  What is it supposed to do?

I'll answer my own questions.  You found it here and this is what it does... "zoom modelspace objects on your monitor to physical 1:1 size in mm".

Doesn't sound all that useful unless you are attempting to measure something you have drawn right off your screen.

So, when prompted for the monitor size did you enter anything and if so what?


Edited by John Connor - 21.Mar.2017 at 10:46
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2015, AutoCAD 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6350
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21.Mar.2017 at 13:09
Well it does work but it seems relatively useless to me.

In my test I opened a new drawing using the acadiso.dwt (metric) template.  I drew a square 25.4x25.4 then doubled clicked my mousewheel which forced the square to fill most of the screen.  I next took out my trusty tape measure and physically measured the monitor screen area (glass portion only, not including the plastic bezel) which in my case turned out to be 24 inches.  Why provide the screen size in inches not millimeters?  Anyway, I input that number at the command prompt and pressed Enter.  The response was Scale 1:1 which I accepted by pressing Enter again and the image resized itself.  I placed my metric scale against the screen and the square measured 25.4x25.4 so the routine works but what's the point?  Most people are going to dimension their drawing and then print it.  They aren't going to measure the screen image and construct what they just drew.


Edited by John Connor - 21.Mar.2017 at 13:23
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
genbel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01.Dec.2013
Location: Italy
Using: autocad 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote genbel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22.Mar.2017 at 11:22
grazie per aver risposto
Ho anche avuto questi test fatto, ma ho visto qualcosa senza senso
che si pensa di non aver effettuato correttamente Lisp

anche grazie infinito

genbel
Back to Top
genbel View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01.Dec.2013
Location: Italy
Using: autocad 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote genbel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22.Mar.2017 at 11:24
thanks for answering
I also had these tests done, but I saw something meaningless
that you think you have not performed correctly lisp

even infinite thanks

genbel
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2015, AutoCAD 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6350
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22.Mar.2017 at 12:19
If the lisp routine failed to produce what you expected then here are some reasons why that may have been.

1. You couldn't figure out how it worked.
2. Your model space object was too large to be displayed on your screen at 1:1 scale (in mm).
3. You failed to properly measure the screen's diagonal dimension.

I had complete success but I see no practical use for the routine and I doubt I will ever have any need of it.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,168 seconds.