CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 5351 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Converting text

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Datumarch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08.Sep.2017
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Datumarch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Converting text
    Posted: 08.Sep.2017 at 16:43
I have a client logo which is a block, that includes a specific text style.  When moving computers the text style changes to a default.  What I would like to do is just turn the text into some sort of object so that it has no text properties and will not change from computer to computer.  Any ideas??
--
Thanks
Eric
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6614
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.Sep.2017 at 16:56
Then aren't you talking about an image file (.jpg or .png)?
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
Datumarch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08.Sep.2017
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2013
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Datumarch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.Sep.2017 at 17:07
No, unfortunately the logo was build in cad.  So it has mtext in the block of the logo.  Now when we use it between computers and new vs old software, it changes the text style.  I would just like the logo to all be one, non editable logo with no ability to edit the text or have it automatically change between computers.
--
Thanks
Eric
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6614
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Sep.2017 at 14:08
Trace the damn thing then turn it into a block.  Done.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
scj.schulz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 27.Dec.2009
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 27
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote scj.schulz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Sep.2017 at 15:56
You can use a DXB-Plotter for this.
Perhaps you first have to configure this DXB-Plotter using the PLOTTERMANAGER-command.
Plot the logo into a file, use the DXBIN-command to insert the created DXB-file in a new drawing and so all letters and drawing entities are converted into single lines.
Hope this helps
Regards
Jochen

www.ant-ares.de

 


Edited by scj.schulz - 09.Sep.2017 at 15:58
Back to Top
Kent Cooper View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12.Mar.2013
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD, Architectural Desktop
Status: Offline
Points: 364
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kent Cooper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11.Sep.2017 at 20:40
In your Printer/Plotter Name: list in the Plot dialog box, there should be some choices that will make a PDF or PNG or JPG.  Isolate the part of their logo Block that you want to do this with, "plot" it by itself to one of those kinds of files, and in BEDIT or REFEDIT, erase the original from the Block and use IMAGEATTACH to bring in the PDF/PNG/JPG version.
Back to Top
Nate143 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09.Jun.2016
Location: South Africa
Using: AutoCAD 2018, Revit 2018, Inventor 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nate143 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Sep.2017 at 11:38
From the Autodesk Website 

The following method only works with text that uses SHX fonts. If your text objects use True Type fonts (TTF), you must first assign a comparable SHX font to the text objects you wish to explode. Then:
  1. Issue the command WMFOUT.
  2. Specify a file name and location for the WMF file and click Save.
  3. Select the text objects you wish to explode and press ENTER.
  4. Issue the command WMFIN.
  5. Choose the WMF file created in steps 1-3 and click Open.
  6. Specify an insertion point.
  7. Specify an insertion scale. Typically, a scale factor of 2 is required to get the object to be the same size as the original.
  8. Specify rotation (usually 0).
  9. The inserted object is a block, so EXPLODE it.
  10. The text is now reduced to polylines.

Otherwise, use the trace option

Regards 
Nate
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 858
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13.Sep.2017 at 14:32
Hello Nate143, your method is too good to be true and it works so goooooooooooood !
I do have to convert texts from AutoCAD to Solidworks or Pro Engineer and when I want to text be kept on theses softwares I "write" 3D text of my own, this will be too good, although I have already created from blank letters, capital letters, numbers and various other text in 3D solids.       Thumbs Up
Philippe JOSEPH
Back to Top
Nate143 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09.Jun.2016
Location: South Africa
Using: AutoCAD 2018, Revit 2018, Inventor 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nate143 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13.Sep.2017 at 15:41
Only a pleasure Thumbs Up
Regards

Nate...
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,090 seconds.