CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 3051 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Schedules go in Paper or Model space?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
jgkaltre1767 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27.Nov.2017
Location: United States
Using: Auto Cad 2017 ,Revit 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jgkaltre1767 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Schedules go in Paper or Model space?
    Posted: 06.Dec.2017 at 16:32
We have several meat and potato jobs in the office and in the pipeline, they are very similar, small in scope and sheet set size, and must be executed in auto cad. When it comes to door schedules, room finish schedules, etc. what do people suggest when it comes to using model or paper space to display the schedules? With efficiency in mind the idea is that these schedules, along with legends,notes, etc. will be reused down the line. For clarity sake, when I say schedule I mean m-text and line work similar to below.


_jk
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6633
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06.Dec.2017 at 17:15
We put all of our text as well as dimensions in the paper space layout not in model space.  We use model space for geometry only.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
Kent Cooper View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12.Mar.2013
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD, Architectural Desktop
Status: Offline
Points: 378
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kent Cooper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06.Dec.2017 at 19:40
One reason for doing them in Paper Space, aside from the fact that they're not "Model" information, is the issue of size.  If you put a Door Schedule in the corner of a 1/4"=1'-0" Floor Plan in Model space, then if you copy/paste that into another Plan that's at 1/8"=1'-0" scale, you'll have to SCALE the Schedule up to twice as big to have it end up at the same size when PLOTted.  The sizes [Text heights, grid Line spacings, etc.] would need to be different for every scale of drawings in which you put such things in Model space.  But in Paper Space, they would always be the same, so a "plain" copy/paste or INSERT would always be the right size.
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,221 seconds.