CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 5228 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Help!! Printer isn't printing full "windo"

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 952
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help!! Printer isn't printing full "windo"
    Posted: 09.Mar.2018 at 14:08
Ho yeah, no good, man.
Philippe JOSEPH
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6855
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Mar.2018 at 13:07
Some of the dimensions appear to use metric and imperial notation such as 12,75".  Both a comma and the inch sign are used.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 952
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Mar.2018 at 12:56
Hello John, no I didn't miss the "plot scale to fit to paper", I have just added the "you plot on a little printer ( with margins ) and you don't loose the "scalable" paper print".
I thought that some extra informations ( due to : print from model space ) was needed.
The file is set on inches and the drawing measures and dimensions are in inches.
The imperial scales are maybe not so easy so I added the notion + eventually a help if needed.
Philippe JOSEPH
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6855
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Mar.2018 at 11:32
You obviously missed this from the OP's first post: "plot scale to fit to paper".  It means he was not printing to any defined scale.  And if he meant this to be a metric drawing why would he specify an imperial scale?  Perhaps the OP needs to take a basic AutoCAD course.


Edited by John Connor - 09.Mar.2018 at 11:34
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 952
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Mar.2018 at 08:27
ADDENDUM : the scale indicated at the bottom right of the paper size is wrongly named, read 1" to 1'.

Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 09.Mar.2018 at 10:17
Philippe JOSEPH
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 952
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Mar.2018 at 08:22
Hello Imits and John, if you print from model space you would :
"border" your model space with the paper sizes printed scaled at predefined values ( ask eventually the list ).
Print the inside rectangle as indicated on the file "WINDOW TO BE PRINTED".
Set the "line type scale" at the scale of the print to eventually see the center lines and hidden lines.
 
SEE THE FILE : CANOPIES-PJH.dwg IN THE CAD/BIM Blocks LIBRARY HERE IN THE SITE.
Philippe JOSEPH
Back to Top
lmits View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30.Jan.2013
Location: Canada
Using: autocad 2002 & autocad 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lmits Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Mar.2018 at 00:20
I guess it's just something on my end then..... not sure what?

the dimension thing is a mistake and I didn't realize that I was using a acad.dwt templete file. Thanks for you time not sure what to do know?
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6855
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.Mar.2018 at 23:31
I had no problem printing it to a letter sized piece of paper (portrait orientation) from a layout.  So I next tried printing it from model space.  Same result.....no problem in fitting it on the paper.  I have no idea what you are doing different than me.

To be clear, your drawing has ten objects on layer 0, color white, with dimensions also on layer 0 but in a color red, separated in two groups of five objects each.  I printed one group of five objects at a time to an 8.5x11 piece of paper.  The Plot Scale was set to "Fit to paper" and the option to "Center the Plot" was enabled.

By the way, why does it appear that you are using both metric and imperial notation in your dimensions?  And did you know that you are using the default acad.dwt template file that is set to use decimal inches?  Just curious.


Edited by John Connor - 08.Mar.2018 at 23:49
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
lmits View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30.Jan.2013
Location: Canada
Using: autocad 2002 & autocad 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lmits Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.Mar.2018 at 23:16
Sorry John couldn't get the dwg to go in your email and I'm very busy at work. 
Here is the block I added:
Internal version DWG2007 -
UPLOAD file: CANOPIES_-_Copy.dwg (109696 byte)
SAVED to DATABASE: CANOPIES_-_Copy.dwg 15646 (cat. Plastic)
Display result - inserted block
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6855
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.Mar.2018 at 22:18
You can upload it here in the CAD Blocks section.  Then tell us the name of the drawing and what category it is in. Or....

....you can click on my user name then click on the link to my Profile.  I'll leave my email address "active" for the next ten minutes.  Hurry, time's a wasting.

Sorry...time's up.  And no upload either?  Guess I'll be on my way.  I do hope you will find a solution to your problem.  Good luck.


Edited by John Connor - 08.Mar.2018 at 22:35
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,125 seconds.