CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 3968 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Topic ClosedUnion of CAD blocks

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
sangcad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19.Mar.2014
Location: India
Using: AutoCAD 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Union of CAD blocks
    Posted: 19.Mar.2014 at 11:37
Do you have any idea to trim/hide the blocks automatically when overlapping with another blocks?
Sanghita
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7087
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Mar.2014 at 11:59
That sounds like something only a custom lisp routine "might" be able to handle.  Only someone familiar with lisp could give you an exact answer.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
sangcad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19.Mar.2014
Location: India
Using: AutoCAD 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Mar.2014 at 12:05
I also think so, but may be need some c++ expert. I don't think it will be possible with only lisp.. don't know may be....
Sanghita
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7087
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Mar.2014 at 12:40
Good luck with that.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
Kent Cooper View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12.Mar.2013
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD2019
Status: Offline
Points: 530
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Mar.2014 at 15:45
If you wanted only one of them to have part of its boundary disappear, you could build the Block with Wipeouts in it, and control which one wipes out the other with their Draworder.  But that would also wipe out the hatching of the Block that's behind, which isn't in accordance with your image.  And they couldn't mutually wipe out each other's edges by any means I can think of, as Block insertions.  You may be stuck with Exploding them and Trimming pieces out.
Back to Top
sangcad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19.Mar.2014
Location: India
Using: AutoCAD 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Mar.2014 at 16:33
Yes, it is okay if we wipeout any specific area. Actually wipeout hides the other objects below the block.
It is also okay if we built the block like that without adding the wipe out.
I need some program which will automatically clip that overlapping portion of the block.
For now I am doing manually with "xclip" command. "xclipframe" command to turn ON/OFF the boundary.
Sanghita
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,047 seconds.