CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 2830 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

jpeg

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
waynelem View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 14.Jul.2014
Location: United States
Using: autocad 2012 full /2014lt
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote waynelem Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Apr.2018 at 15:58
Okay, how do I send the dwg to a person across country with out sending the attached JPEG? So I guess this can't be done , correct?
John, and the rest, thanks for all you help.
I wish this could been done. Still not sure why it can't be inserted or attached somehow.
Wayne
wayne
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Online
Points: 6918
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Apr.2018 at 17:53
Why would you want to send the drawing WITHOUT the jpeg attached?  Why bother going through all this if in the end the image wasn't going to go along for the ride?
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
TedG View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.Apr.2018
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2017, Inventor Professional 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TedG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Apr.2018 at 19:14
Originally posted by waynelem waynelem wrote:

Okay, how do I send the dwg to a person across country with out sending the attached JPEG? So I guess this can't be done , correct?
John, and the rest, thanks for all you help.
I wish this could been done. Still not sure why it can't be inserted or attached somehow.
Wayne
This doesn't make sense or match what appeared to be what your problem was in the first place.
Your first post was that your drawing wasn't "finding" the attached JPG from one computer to another, I think we helped you with that or at least explained what you had to do to make it happen.

Now you mention you want to send it out without the JPG?
Is that a second problem?

If that is the case, the best thing to do is to save your drawing to a folder you have for sending out drawings such as a "file transfer" folder, detach the JPG, save it and send it.

This keeps the JPG attached to your working drawing and you have a record of what you sent out.

:-/


AutoCAD 2017, REVIT Structure 2017, Inventor Professional
Back to Top
Kent Cooper View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12.Mar.2013
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD, Architectural Desktop
Status: Offline
Points: 434
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kent Cooper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Apr.2018 at 20:34
Originally posted by John Connor John Connor wrote:

Why would you want to send the drawing WITHOUT the jpeg attached?  ....
I think what they meant was, without having to send the .JPG file itself in addition to the drawing, that is, they want to send the drawing and have the .JPG embedded within the same file, instead of the image being only a reference to a file external to the drawing.  Not that I know of a way to do it....  A .JPG file is of an entirely different kind of content than AutoCAD drawing entities, so it may not be possible.


Edited by Kent Cooper - 09.Apr.2018 at 20:40
Back to Top
TedG View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.Apr.2018
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2017, Inventor Professional 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TedG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Apr.2018 at 20:42
Originally posted by Kent Cooper Kent Cooper wrote:

Originally posted by John Connor John Connor wrote:

Why would you want to send the drawing WITHOUT the jpeg attached?  ....
I think what they meant was, without having to send the .JPG file itself in addition to the drawing, that is, they want to send the drawing and have the .JPG embedded within the same file, instead of the image being only a reference to some external file.

Ahhhh, yes that makes sense.
Don't think it's possible with an image

AutoCAD 2017, REVIT Structure 2017, Inventor Professional
Back to Top
waynelem View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 14.Jul.2014
Location: United States
Using: autocad 2012 full /2014lt
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote waynelem Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Apr.2018 at 21:00
Thank you Kent. You hit on the head.
So I guess it can't be done. Shame, seams so simple.
Thanks for everbody's idea.
Wayne

wayne
Back to Top
scj.schulz View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 27.Dec.2009
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote scj.schulz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10.Apr.2018 at 13:52
I got a program from a friend of mine to convert *.jpg into Pixel-graphic, which you can load by Script (*.scr) in a DWG.
But it will make big DWG-files... (you can see the single Pixels by ZOOM in the DWG).
My example is:           jpg ->       59 kb
          corresponding DWG ->    3.08 MB - to big to appload.

In case of interest contact me via www.black-cad.de
Regards
Jochen

www.ant-ares.de
Back to Top
thinker View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 08.Jun.2013
Location: United Arab Emirates
Using: AutoCAD2015
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thinker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29.Apr.2018 at 06:14
If you want to embed the image in drawing then first open image in any image editor like paint select all copy and then paste it in the drawing, no reference attachment is required for this method.

Edited by thinker - 29.Apr.2018 at 06:25
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,078 seconds.