CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 6705 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Tips on software

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Treetrunks View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17.Jun.2018
Location: Sweden
Using: Autocad LT, Fusion 360
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Treetrunks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tips on software
    Posted: 17.Jun.2018 at 13:11
Hi

I'm currently working with Fusion 360 and Autocad LT.
I work with lifting systems and tracksystems for theatres and arenas.

I'm not professionally trained in any of them but I use them everyday for work.
I have been using them mainly because that's what we had at our company.

I like the way fusion works, it's easy and powerful for especially considering the price. I use it for all of our components and for drawing up models of all our parts etc.

And I use Autocad LT for putting it all on larger 2d drawings.

Now this isn't very practical... It takes time and it doesn't work very well..

I'm looking for some tips on software that could do both in a reasonable way.

Let's say I first want to import a 3D drawing of a theatre, then I want to place our hoists etc in that space.

After that I want to be able to get good plane and section views from that 3D model with varying degrees of detail and scales.

Does anyone here have any good Ideas?



Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 980
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17.Jun.2018 at 23:00
Hello Tree trunks, I don't know Fusion 360 but AutoCAD LighT  won't do the 3D solid work but only the wire frame job.
For a good 3D work you need AutoCAD plain version and that's what I do for years.
It's OK if you know where you go, not if you need an helping hand, AutoCAD is not your friend but it can be better as it can be your brain if you have any.
You don't drive AutoCAD whith dimensions ( or only in 2D with parametric constrains ) but with your brain and also with all its functionalities :  different types of blocks, layers, posibilities to use .SAT or .STEP or others from others softwares, possibility to do real topografic work in an infinitive space, etc...
Can't you do this all with fusion 360 ?
Philippe JOSEPH
Back to Top
Thomaspaine View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25.Jun.2018
Location: India
Using: ActCAD 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thomaspaine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25.Jun.2018 at 16:11
Hlo guys,I don't use Fusion360. But for 3D drawings, I use ActCAD.It has a feature called self-license transfer that is helping me a lot.It is also good for  3D drawings having around 5000 block libraries.you can also add block libraries into it as per your wish.
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6902
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25.Jun.2018 at 18:39
Does it have a free download feature too?
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,078 seconds.