CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 3109 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Survey Plot plan

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Lexville View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06.Jan.2018
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lexville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Survey Plot plan
    Posted: 28.Sep.2018 at 21:06
Hi Guys,
I am a new buy in autocad. Can anyone help me on how to put the survey plot plan on my model space so I can put my floor on top of the survey plot plan? So do i need to scale the plot plan if I bring it in model space?
Thanks
ADV
Back to Top
Kent Cooper View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12.Mar.2013
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD, Architectural Desktop
Status: Offline
Points: 432
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kent Cooper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01.Oct.2018 at 15:41
INSERT or XREF will do that.  If you are working in feet and inches, your drawing unit is an inch, and if the survey is done using a drawing unit of a foot as Surveyors and Civil Engineers commonly do, you'll need to Scale it up 12x in your drawing, so that their drawing unit turns into 12 of your drawing units.
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6916
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01.Oct.2018 at 15:41
Everything you draw in model space should be to real world dimensions.  Since model space is virtually unlimited no plot plan will be too big to be accommodated.  So, for example, if your lot is 100 feet wide and 250 feet deep then that's what you draw the plot plan up as.  Do NOT draw-to-scale as one might do if they were creating the plot plan manually on a drafting board at a given scale, for example, of 1"=40'.  Do you understand?

Where in the United States are you located?

BTW...floor plans are not shown on plot plans.  A plot plan is supposed to show features like a house, garage, shed, swimming pool, trees, fence, driveway, etc. relative to the boundary of a property.  Plot plans are considered civil drawings.  Floor plans on the other hand are architectural drawings showing the physical layout of a house including walls, stairs, room layouts, closets, utility rooms, bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchens, dining spaces, etc.  Do you get the distinction between the two types of drawings?


Edited by John Connor - 01.Oct.2018 at 15:41
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
Lexville View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06.Jan.2018
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lexville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Oct.2018 at 01:58
Thanks
ADV
Back to Top
Lexville View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06.Jan.2018
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lexville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Oct.2018 at 02:02
Thank you. And how about those General Notes that we put on the cover sheet that they put? where do you get that? is that typical?
Thanks
ADV
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6916
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Oct.2018 at 11:37
While you may have call outs you typically do not see general notes on a plot plan.  You will however see the property owner's name and address, the date the drawing was done and the scale.  You'll also have to reference the setback lines and the building zone the property is located in.  Finally, all features (ex. - fences, driveways, garage, etc.) will have to be labeled.  Some localities may not accept a plot plan drawn by the home owner and instead require one drawn and certified by a licensed land surveyor.  It depends on what the plot plan is being used for (ex. - showing location of a new two car garage).

An architectural floor plan doesn't normally have general notes as most features are labeled.  Depending on how thorough you want to be you might include both a window and door schedule if it was new construction or a renovation.  Once again the owner's name and address, the date, scale, and the initials of the person who drew the floor plan should appear on the drawing.  General notes usually appear on foundation plans, roof plans, electrical layouts, plumbing layouts and building cross-sections. 

Visit you local library and find a book about architectural drafting and design.  There will be plenty of examples to follow in the book.


Edited by John Connor - 02.Oct.2018 at 11:39
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
Lexville View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06.Jan.2018
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lexville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Oct.2018 at 20:35
Thanks, Because I saw on the sheet cover A-0.0  they are General Notes , Project Summary/ Sheet index / Project Team/ Etc.
where to get that General Notes text? and how we I know that is the correct notes?
ADV
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6916
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Oct.2018 at 21:35
I don't know what sheet cover you are referring to.  Generally speaking sheet covers are rarely required for anything that isn't a commercial (business), municipal, state or federal project.

The engineer (civil, structural, electrical, mechanical, etc.) or architect is responsible for coming up with the general notes where applicable to their field of expertise.

Who are you doing the drawings for?  Personal use?  A client?  The company you work?


Edited by John Connor - 02.Oct.2018 at 22:31
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
Lexville View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06.Jan.2018
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 31
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lexville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Oct.2018 at 03:47
ADV
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6916
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Oct.2018 at 17:11
That looks more like new construction.  Is that what you are doing?  Or is this a renovation?  Perhaps an addition?

We need to know the scope of the project.  You need to be more forthcoming about your "project".

Where is the property located?  Is it in the United States or in Europe somewhere?  Different standards apply in different countries.


Edited by John Connor - 03.Oct.2018 at 17:17
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,125 seconds.