CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 2368 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Early Save format

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
pweeks View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 22.Nov.2013
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 52
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pweeks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Early Save format
    Posted: 09.Nov.2018 at 20:16
Hello all!

My company likes to cater to our customers by saving our autocad files down to Autocad 2000/LT2000 .dwg format. some of our customers have older versions of autocad. While updating all of our files I'm noticing that my AutoCAD gets a bit glitchy. Especially when I'm working with dynamic blocks.

Would the file format effect that? If not what would it effect? I need to know these answers so I can propose to my manager that we are wasting our money on nicer computers if we are saving down. My goal is to get them to at least Autocad 2007.

Any info will help.

Thanks
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6933
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10.Nov.2018 at 14:27
Maybe the drawing files are "glitchy" because they haven't been cleaned.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
pweeks View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 22.Nov.2013
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 52
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pweeks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Nov.2018 at 22:03
No we purge our drawings and utilize the same template for every drawing to start fresh. I'm just trying to find out if there is any added value to saving it to a more recent version.
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6933
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14.Nov.2018 at 14:00
Purge.  That's it?  No use of Overkill or Audit?  No WBlocking out a client's drawing to get rid of unwanted entities?

If your clients won't make the jump to a newer version of AutoCAD you're still faced with the same problem(s) aren't you?

You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
pweeks View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 22.Nov.2013
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 52
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pweeks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05.Dec.2018 at 20:50
We use overkill but most of the time it isn't needed since our lines are all polylined. Never used Audit but I will look into it. I also have just added a DWS file to our templates so that should help keep the files clean as well. I believe the clients have a later version than AutoCAD 2000 ( I would hope). That's why I want to update to at least Autocad 2007 file save.

If there is no benefit to saving at a higher format then I will continue to save at 2000.
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,094 seconds.