CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 3889 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Xref selected Layers

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
domnanan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22.Oct.2008
Location: Mauritius
Using: AutoCAD2010
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote domnanan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Xref selected Layers
    Posted: 03.Aug.2019 at 11:16
Hi Acad Forumist,

I'm just wondering weather we can partially extract some layers from a drawing to attach the latter into another one as and external reference.

Lets say that I want to extract only 'Roof' layer from my 'villa' drawing to a site plan. Any change in the roof layer would at my source would reflect to the site plan. On the site plan other layers would be cumbersome.

What do u think?
DSN
Back to Top
Vladimir Michl View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

CAD Studio a.s.

Joined: 26.Jul.2007
Location: Czech Republic
Using: Autodesk software
Status: Offline
Points: 1784
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Vladimir Michl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27.Aug.2019 at 07:59
You can use QSELECT to select object on a particular layer and then WBLOCK them to a separate DWG file. This can be the XREFed to the main drawing.
Vladimir Michl (moderator)
CAD Studio - www.cadstudio.cz - Autodesk reseller
Back to Top
domnanan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22.Oct.2008
Location: Mauritius
Using: AutoCAD2010
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote domnanan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27.Aug.2019 at 23:19
I see that you well understood what I meant.
I just feel that this could be done automatically.
May be in future version.
DSN
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1109
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28.Aug.2019 at 08:24
Hello domnanan, AutoCAD gives the possibility to switch from "all in the file" to Wblock or Xref and you can also switch back to the contrary like for example Xref to classic internal blocks or anything that you want.
This is not possible on any other software.


Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 28.Aug.2019 at 14:55
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,094 seconds.