CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 1829 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Topic ClosedINSTALLING NEW FONT

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AnnieC View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 24.May.2010
Location: United States
Using: autoCAD 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Direct Link To This Post Topic: INSTALLING NEW FONT
    Posted: 02.Feb.2011 at 20:05
PLEASE HELP.  I am trying to install a new .shx font in autoCAD 2011.  I have copied the font into my autocad fonts file but it is not installing or coming up on the style window.  The compile command does not work either for this extension... 
Back to Top
HAWDesigner View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04.Aug.2008
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD R14, AutoCAD 2009, AutoCAD 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 310
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Feb.2011 at 20:13
I don't do this very often, but according to Tip# 7444, you have done all you need to. Unless there is an error with the Font, it should work fine.

Have you rebooted AutoCAD?
--
R. Williams
AutoCAD 2010 Certified Professional
<!-- If all else fails hit F1 -->
<<AutoCAD 2009
Back to Top
AnnieC View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 24.May.2010
Location: United States
Using: autoCAD 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Feb.2011 at 20:13
i have rebooted autoCAD and the whole computer.  I will try again...
Back to Top
HAWDesigner View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04.Aug.2008
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD R14, AutoCAD 2009, AutoCAD 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 310
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Feb.2011 at 20:19
If you've already rebooted, there should be no need to do that again.

Are you sure there are no errors in the SHX font file?
--
R. Williams
AutoCAD 2010 Certified Professional
<!-- If all else fails hit F1 -->
<<AutoCAD 2009
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7068
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Feb.2011 at 22:36
Are you sure it is a font file and not a shape file?

AutoCAD 2011?  Is it 32-bit or 64-bit?  What OS are you running?  Is it 32-bit or 64-bit?
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
AnnieC View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 24.May.2010
Location: United States
Using: autoCAD 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Feb.2011 at 01:50
it is 32 bit and i am running Windows xp (through a dual operating system on a MAC... )
Back to Top
Rikky View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30.Jul.2010
Using: 2004 2006 2007 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 56
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Feb.2011 at 07:49
I just instaled the new font in control panel... And AutoCAD just take this over...
 
Only thing you have to do is reboot AutoCAD...
Autodesk Certified Engineer: ACE 3D Designer
AutoCAD 2011 professional
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7068
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Feb.2011 at 11:50
Can you post the font?  I'd like to try and load it into my AutoCAD 2011.  Thanks.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
AnnieC View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 24.May.2010
Location: United States
Using: autoCAD 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Feb.2011 at 15:10
Hi john.. here are the fonts.. they are eduardian script and Heliviticauploads/20110203_151009_fonts.zip
Back to Top
AnnieC View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 24.May.2010
Location: United States
Using: autoCAD 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 57
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Feb.2011 at 15:13
The only fonts i can install from my control panel are true type fonts.  It does not show up shx font so that i can select it and download it into windows. 
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,047 seconds.