CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 1657 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic Closedline and polyline?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
kelvin.loh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17.May.2011
Location: Singapore
Using: autocad 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Direct Link To This Post Topic: line and polyline?
    Posted: 18.May.2011 at 03:56
Generally whats the difference between the 2?
On what situation should i use polyline? can i convert line into polyline?
What can line do that polyline can't?
Back to Top
Vladimir Michl View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

CAD Studio a.s.

Joined: 26.Jul.2007
Location: Czech Republic
Using: Autodesk software
Status: Offline
Points: 1506
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18.May.2011 at 08:29
Line is just one straight segment, Polyline is a series of segments (lines or arcs). Line can be 3D, plain Polyline cannot (there are also 3DPolylines).
 
You can convert Lines to Polylines (e.g. with PEDIT) and Polylines to Lines (with EXPLODE).
Vladimir Michl (moderator)
CAD Studio - www.cadstudio.cz
(Autodesk reseller and developer)
Back to Top
kelvin.loh View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17.May.2011
Location: Singapore
Using: autocad 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18.May.2011 at 09:48

thanks

Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2013, AutoCAD 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 3838
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18.May.2011 at 11:57
A rectangle created with the line command consists of four separate entities.  The sample rectangle created with one continuous polyline would be treated by AutoCAD as a single entity.  Polylines, via the Pedit command, can also be turned into splines and can have curves fitted to them.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2013>>

Back to Top
heinsite View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 05.Feb.2009
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 640
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.May.2011 at 05:49
It's often more what a closed polyline object can do that a series of individual line segements cannot:  Provide direct computation of perimeters and areas.  Those can be worth the price of admission alone.
Dave Hein, P.E.
Hawaii District Engineer
Kona International Airport
AutoCAD Certified Professional
Autodesk Expert Elite
Back to Top
jirachai View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19.May.2011
Location: Thailand
Using: 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.May.2011 at 10:30

The distinction between line and polyline is.

line = 2D = ok.
polyline = 3D = ok.

and can convert polyline by command explode.

Therefore if you use just drafting 2D will not have to use the polyline.

Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2013, AutoCAD 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 3838
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.May.2011 at 11:43
Avoiding the use of polylines in 2D drafting is not a good CAD drafting practice.  
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2013>>

Back to Top
ChristianD View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18.Jan.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD2010
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23.May.2011 at 11:55
Hi, The original Polyline in AutoCAD while a vast improvement over having to use line segments and arcs was a resource hog. each vertex and end were separate entities so a Polyline with two vertexes was four entities. In r14 AutoCAD introduced the lwpolyline (lightweight polyline) which was a single entity. For drawing which included lots of contours or other complex polylines drawing sizes shrank considerably. Big difference in speed and stability as well. Thanks!
________________
pest exterminator

Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,156 seconds.