CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 6917 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Faster way of formatting text to particular format

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
z1990m View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.May.2017
Location: United Kingdom
Using: AutoCAD 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote z1990m Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Faster way of formatting text to particular format
    Posted: 25.May.2018 at 22:46
Hi,

This is probably trivial for most people but I’m strugging to invent a work around for lots of typing and mouse clicks.

What I have is a survey drawing unedited with multiple text displaying depths in the format of “0.00d”
However the survey software spits out these filths in all different formats e.g. “.0” “0.0” “.00”
What I currently do as my fastest way to rectify this is do multiple QSELECT commands each time using wildcards like #.# or .# and using a lisp command that I found on the net to add prefixes and suffixes in order to format all the text to read “#.##d”

What I originally thought was to record a macro of me running all of these QSELECT commands and save that, problem being it grinds to a halt once the QSELECT dialog box gets involved.

Hopefully that made sense to someone, and if someone could help it would save me so much time.

Thanks
Many Thanks

Zak
Back to Top
Kent Cooper View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12.Mar.2013
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD, Architectural Desktop
Status: Offline
Points: 425
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kent Cooper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30.May.2018 at 15:17
Do all of them always end with a "d" and never have any other content except the decimal-numerical part?  If so, it shouldn't be hard to make a routine that would "fix" such text content.

Edited by Kent Cooper - 30.May.2018 at 15:18
Back to Top
z1990m View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.May.2017
Location: United Kingdom
Using: AutoCAD 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote z1990m Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30.May.2018 at 19:01
Kent,

To be honest, no they don’t as I could use the lisp I have to add the “d” (depth in case you where wondering) as a suffix at the end.

Mainly just trying to speed up my prep time before finalising my drawings as the survey software we use spits out some less than ideal formats for this text.

If you could help then it would be very much appreciated! ??

Zak
Many Thanks

Zak
Back to Top
Vladimir Michl View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

CAD Studio a.s.

Joined: 26.Jul.2007
Location: Czech Republic
Using: Autodesk software
Status: Offline
Points: 1730
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vladimir Michl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Jun.2018 at 08:24
 I think it should be possible to use srxText (a general text replacement utility, see Download) and find a regular expression which would cover all wrong formats, and replace it then with the right one.

If you send me a list of all possible wrong formats, I can help to code such expression.
Vladimir Michl (moderator)
CAD Studio - www.cadstudio.cz - Autodesk reseller
Back to Top
bigdave34 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27.Jun.2013
Location: United Kingdom
Using: autodcad 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bigdave34 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18.Jul.2018 at 14:35
Hi wondering if you can help me using srxtext command?
 
I want to replace a KKS code prefix, the code is alphanumeric so currently something like 3HAD10#### is the start can be any combination of letters though, just want to change the 3 to 1.
 
Any ideas?
 
Thanks


Edited by bigdave34 - 18.Jul.2018 at 14:36
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,078 seconds.