CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 2912 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Best way to count items from AutoCAD plans?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
enimrun View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10.Jun.2020
Location: Finland
Using: AutoCAD2019
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote enimrun Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Best way to count items from AutoCAD plans?
    Posted: 10.Jun.2020 at 14:31
Hi!

To start this off, I have never used AutoCAD (or any other CAD-programs) in my life, my background is in sales. I currently work in a industrial manufacturing firm, and we provide for example HVAC-solutions to large buildings etc. As of now, our sales team gets these big A1-sized plans designed with AutoCAD, and we need to manually go through each plan to find out e.g. how many valves or such items we need to sell. This of course feels like a outdated and inefficient way of working. What would be the best way to do this? Is there any way to automate this counting process? Maybe there is a software that crunches the data for you and makes a list of item quantities? I tried to Google it and found services like Cadmatic, MagiCAD, OpenBOM and BOM Extractor, would any of these work? I also found mentions of AutoCAD's own data extraction tool, how about that?

Thanks in advance!

Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11.Jun.2020 at 23:34
The first step is to make sure the items you wish to count are blocks.  It might also prove useful to assign attributes to the blocks.  For example: a part or catalog number, size, pricing perhaps?
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1179
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Jun.2020 at 07:10
Hello enimrun and John, yes if the entities are made of blocks there is eventually the command : BCOUNT that could work simply and leads to some kind of a part list.
The good way is to launch the command on all the file or on a selection, then press F2 to have an easy access to the list of blocks, copy/paste that list in a multiple line text or in a word file.
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Jun.2020 at 15:48
Or a person could use the DATAEXTRACTION command. 
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1179
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Jun.2020 at 21:01
Yes John and enimrun but is dataextraction easy for a person that have never used AutoCAD ?
If dataextraction needs blocks to count then for a 'simple' use bcount seems OK for me.
In fact I use bcount when in 3D to easily verify the quantities of items in my assemblies and I use the method described in my previous post.
Of course the blocks have to be very well named for a good use and I use the 'polish' method for this i.e. beginning the blocks names with the sub assembly name or the name of the machine like : LIEBHERR-LTM1200-5.1-BOOM-58-3m so that a list of items will be in a usable alphabetical order.
Hope this will help.
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,047 seconds.