CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
CZ | EN | DE
Login or
registration
  Visitors: 8748
RSS channel - CAD tips RSS tips
RSS discussions

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedCan't move objects up or down Zaxis with Ortho on

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
jimizman View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can't move objects up or down Zaxis with Ortho on
    Posted: 30.Apr.2010 at 18:09
I am not a pro at 3D modelling with Autocad but have some time in it and felt pretty comfortable.  Just recently, I have been floored by my inability to move any objects, 2D or 3D, up or down along the Z-axis with ortho on.  It locks it to where I can only go x or y.  I like the ortho control to keep things lined up.  When I first started doing 3D in Autocad, I had the same problem until I realized that I needed to have the view set to one of the set (front, left, etc.) and then it would work.  It is not the case now. 
I can only move items up or down by turning the ortho off and having free movement or if I change my view from the preset front, side, or rear to a preset isometric view.  Weird because in the isometric views, I can move up and down locked to the z-axis and ortho restrained with no problems.  Why can't I do this looking straight at it?!?!?  Oh ya, I don't have it set to perspective either.