CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 497 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Topic Closedcan anyone help

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
karlt83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24.Jan.2011
Location: United Kingdom
Using: Autocad lt 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Topic: can anyone help
    Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 14:56
im in the architectural / structural industry and produce 2d plans for new build houses etc, i want to start producing 3d visualizations etc that show professional images what autocad/autodesk product is the best for me to buy that can produce what i need? 

thanx
Back to Top
tulip3D View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23.Jul.2009
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD2011, Inventor2011
Status: Offline
Points: 427
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 14:59
INVENTOR!!
but can be done in ACAD...but without the material detail that inventor provides.
Back to Top
karlt83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24.Jan.2011
Location: United Kingdom
Using: Autocad lt 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 15:01
really? i thought that mas more for the mechanical/electricall industry? i wouldnot even atemp in AutoCAD 3d its just way to laborious in my opinion
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7068
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 15:02
I would not recommend Inventor for doing 3D architectural / structural visualizations.  I would however recommend 3ds Max.  Inventor would be a waste of your money since its main strengths lie in other areas.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
karlt83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24.Jan.2011
Location: United Kingdom
Using: Autocad lt 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 15:05
thanks john, i had considered Revit Architecture, any experience on this package?
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7068
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 15:10
None.  All my work is done in AutoCAD.  I hear there is a real steep learning curve to Revit and that while it has improved there are quite a few people who have to work with it but don't find it all that flexible or enjoyable to do so.  Caveat Emptor.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
karlt83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24.Jan.2011
Location: United Kingdom
Using: Autocad lt 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 15:15
i had used Revit Structure, not so easy to use, but i think the fact u can now import revit models into 3ds max could be a decent move
Back to Top
tulip3D View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23.Jul.2009
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD2011, Inventor2011
Status: Offline
Points: 427
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 15:31
quote terminator, LOL, 'None.  All my work is done in AutoCAD.'
so really, you cant comment.
It really depends on what type of detail you are doing. Interior, rooms, high detail? INVENTOR.

Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7068
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 15:41
I've encountered this question in a few other forums and hands down 3ds Max will get the nod way more times than Inventor for this type of work.  Trust me on this.  If you don't believe it then visit The Swamp, CADTutor and AutoCAD Everything and ask the same question word-for-word and see what responses you get.  Care to make a friendly wager?

Edited by John Connor - 04.Feb.2011 at 15:42
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
tulip3D View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 23.Jul.2009
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD2011, Inventor2011
Status: Offline
Points: 427
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Feb.2011 at 15:54
But its still based on speculation....whatever man Thumbs%20Up
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,063 seconds.