CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 1873 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Topic Closed3dsMax or AutoCad?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
farycj View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06.Dec.2014
Location: Malaysia
Using: AutoCAD 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Topic: 3dsMax or AutoCad?
    Posted: 18.Mar.2016 at 03:40
Hi,

Can anyone tell me which of these two application (3dsMax & AutoCad) is more suitable for model making and construction? And why?

Thank you.
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7090
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18.Mar.2016 at 11:58
What kinds of models are you referring to?
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
farycj View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06.Dec.2014
Location: Malaysia
Using: AutoCAD 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22.Mar.2016 at 09:16
models like product design or furniture. and construction in context of architecture such as buildings or kiosk.

is it possible for us to use only 3ds max for these kind of work field?
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7090
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22.Mar.2016 at 14:22
You want to know if construction/fabrication drawings, for the shop, can be created using 3ds Max?

Well this is how the program is described.  So, you tell me.

Autodesk 3ds Max, formerly 3D Studio, then 3D Studio Max is a professional 3D computer graphics program for making 3D animations, models, games and images.


Edited by John Connor - 22.Mar.2016 at 14:23
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
archihanu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22.Mar.2016
Location: Australia
Using: AutoCAD2013
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22.Mar.2016 at 17:51
3ds Max vĂ  AutoCad are definitely different. Architect use Autocad to design and make plan drawing then using 3ds max to make 3d perspective image.
http://caitaonhadep.vn
Interior design in Hanoi,Vietnam
Back to Top
keshavsharma61 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.Apr.2016
Location: India
Using: AutoCad 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Apr.2016 at 13:16
I suggest you to go for 3D Max rather then AutoCad
Draw it in first AutoCad then animate it in 3D max. both have their own uses.


Edited by keshavsharma61 - 03.Apr.2016 at 13:19
Engineer
Back to Top
yomna.mk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07.May.2016
Location: United Arab Emirates
Using: AutoCAD 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07.May.2016 at 23:39
can anyone tell me how to control moving the objects in 3D max like Autocad, i mean when i'm using Max i feel i can control the object to move it in specific place or to certain point?
also if i want to move one line from the object but in one direction, same when you do f8 in autocad to move it horizontally or vertically, how we do that in 3D max? 
Back to Top
farycj View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06.Dec.2014
Location: Malaysia
Using: AutoCAD 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.May.2016 at 06:27
not sure what are you refer to but maybe you can use axis constraint toolbars if you want the object to move in only one direction. to use specific constraint, you can use f5, f6 or f7 button but then it will restricted to only one axis at a time. or if you use f8, it will lock the moving object only to the three axis.
Usually what i do is to click on the axis arrow and click spacebar to lock it. by then, you lock your selection and won't lose the object when you move it. after you have move the object, don't forget to click spacebar again to unlock the selection.
Back to Top
farycj View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06.Dec.2014
Location: Malaysia
Using: AutoCAD 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.May.2016 at 06:31
By the way, the question i posted before,

"Can anyone tell me which of these two application (3dsMax & AutoCad) is more suitable for model making and construction? And why?"

is simply because i wanted to hear opinion from various designers on the uses of both software and limitation of it.

Thank you for responding.
Back to Top
yomna.mk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07.May.2016
Location: United Arab Emirates
Using: AutoCAD 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.May.2016 at 23:21
For me i use AutoCAD more because it's faster and I do all the shapes I want easily for the building,
Then I'll use max for editing and curving and lines that need to be more smooth, or for blocks like furniture and stuff.

And thank you for answering my question :)
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,063 seconds.