CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 2640 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Rotated 3D Viewports

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
DTH Drafting View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18.Apr.2017
Location: Australia
Using: AutoCAD 2007, Revit2006
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DTH Drafting Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rotated 3D Viewports
    Posted: 11.Jun.2020 at 08:59
Hi Guys,
I have been struggling with trying to get viewports to line up with non-standard angles. 
The job I'm working on at the moment has several steel beams and posts that are sloping from the ground floor to the first floor and are at 45° to the house frames.
To get drawings for manufacture, I need to have a viewport that is viewing 45° from the right.
The standard Front View is 0°, Right View 90°,  Rear View 180° and Left View 270°.
I also need a top view that is square to the top of the steel beams. The standard top view is 90° from horizontal, I need one that is 70.2°.
I'm sure this can be done - I just don't know how.

In smaller jobs I just made copies of the beams and laid them horizontally so I could use the Top, Front and Side Views. I'm thinking there must be a better way.

Any ideas would be much appreciated.
Regards
David
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1179
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11.Jun.2020 at 16:58
Hello DTH Drafting.
With AutoCAD 3D you can set an UCS conformably to a special 3D view with the command : UCS, option V ( View ).
And you can set a 3D view in the model space or through an open viewport with the command PLAN once you have set a special UCS for example with 3 points wich is your need I guess.
Please tell me ( us ) if this helped or not.


Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 11.Jun.2020 at 17:00
Back to Top
DTH Drafting View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18.Apr.2017
Location: Australia
Using: AutoCAD 2007, Revit2006
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DTH Drafting Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Jun.2020 at 04:24
Thanks Philippe.
You gave me another direction to explore.
Using the Autodesk knowledge base, I can sort of get close to what I'm after.
Unfortunately, I don't have the time to play around at the moment.
After this job, I'll experiment further and ask more questions (with pictures).

Regards
David
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1179
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Jun.2020 at 07:22
Hello again DTH Drafting, I forgot to say that after having set a good UCS and launch the command PLAN you have to press C like Current to get that point of view as an option.
I said C like current I presume because I work with a french release of AutoCAD.
An other way to do this is to explore the possibilities of the command  DDVPOINT.
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,047 seconds.