CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 1762 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

simplifying 3d object

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
sjaggie View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26.Dec.2020
Location: France
Using: AUtoCAD 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sjaggie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: simplifying 3d object
    Posted: 27.Dec.2020 at 16:55
I have a 3d object of a landscape with details of mountains, craters, cracks, etc. I need to downsize the model from approximately 10 cm down to 1 cm. I would like to drop the high details of the model but remain enough to recognize the mayor shapes

Is there a tool/function to do this in AutoCAD 2017?

Once the object has been resized, I would like to "wrap" it around a second object. A sphere or cylinder. Is this also possible?

Thanks in advance for any tips.


Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1226
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27.Dec.2020 at 18:00
Hello sjaggie, you shouldn't have to resize your 3D or 2D object as it should have been drawn with a certain unit that you can set for it to be used in diferent files with eventually different units ( better insert it rather than copy/paste from file to file ).
See  the command UNITS.
If you really scale it do it all from the coordinate 0,0,0 for it to remain located in an X,Y,Z coordinate system.
If you insert it it becomes a block that you can "resize" with the command SCALE.
I don't know about wrapping the object around a cylinder or maybe if it's an image and even less aroud a sphere...
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,047 seconds.