CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
CZ | EN | DE
Login or
registration
  Visitors: 3551
RSS channel - CAD tips RSS tips
RSS discussions

Discussion Discussion forum

 

HelpCAD discussion

 
CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

CAD file refuses to close

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Ernie12131 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19.Apr.2021
Location: Canada
Using: AutoCAD LT 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ernie12131 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: CAD file refuses to close
    Posted: 19.Apr.2021 at 14:34
I have one file that does not want to close.  I have tried to close the AutoCAD program and it will not close.  When I try to close the file the usual dialogue box comes up asking if I want to save the file.  Of course, I want to save my work, so I click on yes.  However, nothing happens.  The file allows me to make all changes to edit the drawing except the "save as" and the "Clipboard" functions.  I am not sure at this point if the save function is working on this drawing because I have not been able to close it to check.
I am thinking of forcing a shutdown but I am worried I will lose all the hours of work I have done so far.    The drawing is from an Architect but all his other drawings that I am using are working fine.  Ernie.  
Ernie
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7121
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21.Apr.2021 at 13:14
Have you tried saving the entire drawing as a block (WBLOCK command) then opening a new drawing and inserting the newly created block?

Edited by John Connor - 22.Apr.2021 at 12:56
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
ChristinaV87 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02.Dec.2020
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD Architecture 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ChristinaV87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26.Apr.2021 at 15:45
Do you have the option to create a new file? or you can't do it while the old one is open? perhaps it is possible to send or copy all the material to another file and forcibly close this file?

Edited by ChristinaV87 - 26.Apr.2021 at 15:45
"The harder you work, the luckier you get."
employee monitoring software

Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,078 seconds.