CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
CZ | EN | DE
Login or
registration
  Visitors: 4577
RSS channel - CAD tips RSS tips
RSS discussions

Discussion Discussion forum

 

HelpCAD discussion

 
CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Autocad 2010 to 2023lt viewports

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
dano200 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23.Feb.2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dano200 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Autocad 2010 to 2023lt viewports
    Posted: 06.Jan.2023 at 18:16
Hi,

Apologies for the newbie query, I have tried to search on here and youtube but cannot find the answer.

Until just before Christmas I ran autcad 2010, nice and simple in classic view. When adding a viewport I could click on it to enter model space and zoom as required then click a move button to centre the view where I wanted it in the viewport.

With my new 2023Lt I can add a viewport and zoom just as before but I just cannot fond the correct move function to move the model space to the position I want.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Dan
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1383
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07.Jan.2023 at 13:19
Hello dano200, maybe the comand: P ( PAN ).
I personnally "border" my model space with the paper size that I use so I use ZOOM to center and zoom my viewports.
By doing this I can use the maximum space, use the smaller scale and I'm sure that nothing will be out of the viewport. 
Back to Top
dano200 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23.Feb.2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dano200 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10.Jan.2023 at 12:45
Thank you for the reply. That doesn't do quite what I used to be able to do.

I want to put part of my model space drawing in a viewport (say a ground floor plan). After double clicking the viewport in paper space I can zoom in on the mouse wheel and set the scale etc. My old 2010 acad had an option to click that would let you click in the viewport and manually move the model space to display exactly what I wanted. This seems to be missing and I cannot find that option.

Having watched online tutorials I have seem people click in the viewport and then click and hold again to move the display - I just cannot find it.

Many Thanks

Dan
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1383
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10.Jan.2023 at 13:02
Hello dano200, that "clic and hold" or "pick and drag" should be available with a left clic or a central clic but WITH hold the clic to drag right/left or up/down or in any other direction.

Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 10.Jan.2023 at 13:04
Back to Top
dano200 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23.Feb.2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dano200 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11.Jan.2023 at 13:47
Ah brilliant, central click of the mouse holds it so I can drag the drawing to the area I want in the viewport. 

Thank you so much, it has been driving me mad.

Dan
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1383
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Jan.2023 at 08:09
Hello again dano200, do prefer using the central clic in the Model space to PAN and ZOOM.
Do prefer using the left clic to PAN only once you have set your ZOOM or lock the zoom of your viewports.
Back to Top
dano200 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23.Feb.2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dano200 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Jan.2023 at 08:38
Hi,

Yes my old set up used to left click to pan but this new one is centre click. It is a little clumsy using the wheel as it. I would love to go back to a left click but at least I have found the option.
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1383
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Jan.2023 at 13:04
Dano200, I haven't set the options of the left clic recently.
I do this with the right clic in : OPTIONS / User preferences / Right-clic customization...
I think that you have to set the left clic in Windows, I don't remember well.
Here there is the speed of the doubble clic, the meaning of the clic, etc...
Back to Top
dano200 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23.Feb.2010
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dano200 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12.Jan.2023 at 15:42
Oh thank you, I will go see those options.

Your help is very much appreciated.

Dan
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,594 seconds.