CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 2071 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Topic ClosedHow do you use the Publish function?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ejones66 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.Jun.2009
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Direct Link To This Post Topic: How do you use the Publish function?
    Posted: 03.Jun.2009 at 22:21
Hi!
 
Does anyone know how to use the publish function to combine multiple drawings and print them as a book?
 
I am trying to print multiple drawings in a book for folks in my office, double-sided, 11"x17", preferably from dwg format to PDF, not blueprints.
 
I was turning each drawing into a PDF then building a document in acrobat...but it's so inefficient!! There has to be a better way...any suggestions? 
 
Thank you much!!
Elizabeth


Edited by ejones66 - 03.Jun.2009 at 22:31
Back to Top
Arben.Allaraj View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Nov.2007
Location: Albania
Using: AutoCAD 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 602
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Jun.2009 at 08:13
Originally posted by ejones66 ejones66 wrote:

Hi!
 


Does anyone know how to use the publish function to combine multiple drawings and print them as a book?

 

I am trying to print multiple drawings in a book for folks in my office, double-sided, 11"x17", preferably from dwg format to PDF, not blueprints.

 

I was turning each drawing into a PDF then building a document in acrobat...but it's so inefficient!! There has to be a better way...any suggestions? 

 

Thank you much!! Elizabeth


You can realise with sheets work around them.
Ing Arben.Allaraj
http://cad-drafting-corner.blogspot.com
Back to Top
AmerieWhite View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28.Apr.2009
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Jun.2009 at 08:37
Publish from Autodesk is a tedious work. You can try AutoDWG PDF to DWG converter and  convert to a PDF book, it is just easy and efficient. Just a suggestion, hope this helps.
Amerie White
Back to Top
ejones66 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.Jun.2009
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04.Jun.2009 at 13:21
I'm not knowledgeable of AutoCAD at all - do you mind walking me through step by step?
 
Thanks so much!
Back to Top
AmerieWhite View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28.Apr.2009
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05.Jun.2009 at 03:47
What is your AutoCAD version? If it is not a 2010, then you do not have access to publish several DWG files into just one PDF. I do not know if Xenadu has some related free tools.

So when you are using AutoCAD 2010, you can type 'publish' in command line, click the 'add sheets' button to add your drawings and  select publish to 'PDF' form the publish box. After this, 'publish' and just wait the output, it will cost lots of time but still wait.

If you do not have 2010 installed, the only way to generate this kind of PDF is to find some software that can convert DWG's into just one PDF.

Yes, I'm the one who have tried both the 2010 and the other softwares. I'm now still using the AutoDWG DWG to PDF converter but not AutoCAd 2010, because I just said 2010 takes too much time let me wait for the printout.

You can find the AutoDWG that I mentioned at: http://www.autodwg.com/PDF/. There is an option that lets you convert into single PDF.



Edited by AmerieWhite - 05.Jun.2009 at 03:59
Amerie White
Back to Top
ejones66 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.Jun.2009
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05.Jun.2009 at 13:47
Thanks so much for your quick reply! I guess I am out of luck because I use 2006...yeesh. I can convert from DWG to PDF, it just takes so much time. I guess I will have to suffer through, for now.
 
Thanks again!
Elizabeth
Back to Top
ejones66 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.Jun.2009
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05.Jun.2009 at 13:59

Hi Arben,

Do you mind clarifying the the steps it takes to do that? I am very new to AutoCAD.

Thank you much,

ElizabethStar

Back to Top
Arben.Allaraj View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Nov.2007
Location: Albania
Using: AutoCAD 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 602
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05.Jun.2009 at 23:30
Originally posted by ejones66 ejones66 wrote:

Hi Arben,

Do you mind clarifying the the steps it takes to do that? I am very new to AutoCAD.

Thank you much,

ElizabethStar



 I can give some links to see about sheets tutorials check them.
 
 1.http://ellenfinkelstein.com/autocadtips/AutoCAD_tips_tutorial_create_simple_sheetset.html

 2.http://cadit.typepad.com/my_weblog/2007/06/publish_to_dwf_.html

 3.http://dwf.blogs.com/beyond_the_paper/2007/01/autocad_using_t_1.html
 
 4.http://www.augi.com/publications/hotnews.asp?page=1383

Ok and check the   PUBLISHCOLLATE variable = 1 ?


Edited by Arben.Allaraj - 05.Jun.2009 at 23:32
Ing Arben.Allaraj
http://cad-drafting-corner.blogspot.com
Back to Top
ejones66 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03.Jun.2009
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.Jun.2009 at 17:08
Arben,
 
Thanks again for the quick reply! I am using AutoCAD 2006 - are you familiar with that version? Any tips using the function in that version?
Back to Top
Arben.Allaraj View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Nov.2007
Location: Albania
Using: AutoCAD 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 602
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09.Jun.2009 at 19:58
Originally posted by ejones66 ejones66 wrote:

Arben,
 
Thanks again for the quick reply! I am using AutoCAD 2006 - are you familiar with that version? Any tips using the function in that version?


For moment I have no use 2006 I can't remember it.
 
What ever check the links.
Ing Arben.Allaraj
http://cad-drafting-corner.blogspot.com
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,047 seconds.