CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 4590 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Ghost Line?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
martingtc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17.Jun.2016
Location: United Kingdom
Using: 2008LT
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote martingtc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ghost Line?
    Posted: 18.Mar.2019 at 12:53
uploads/657554/arch_test.dwg

I'm using Autocad 2019 LT and have a drawing containing a semi-circle...

When I plot and print - a line appears across the centre of the semi circle. I'ts not on my drawing, modelspace or paperspace, no hidden or thawed lines or layers etc. It only appears when printed, it's not even viewable on a PDF but prints from there also!

Help please!


Edited by martingtc - 18.Mar.2019 at 12:55
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7003
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Mar.2019 at 10:59
I printed your drawing three different ways and there was no thin line across the semi-circle.  I printed directly from model space, directly from a layout and via a PDF.  There is nothing wrong or unusual with the drawing itself.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
martingtc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17.Jun.2016
Location: United Kingdom
Using: 2008LT
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote martingtc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Mar.2019 at 17:24
How strange!

I get it printing from model, saving as a pdf THEN printing or printing from paperspace.

This drawing was also copied from, and drawn from scratch 2 separate times with the same results....

Any ideas from here??
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7003
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Mar.2019 at 19:15
No idea what's happening.  Same printer every time?
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
martingtc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17.Jun.2016
Location: United Kingdom
Using: 2008LT
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote martingtc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20.Mar.2019 at 17:40
Yes sir
Back to Top
ing_vali2009 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29.Jan.2010
Location: Romania
Using: Revit 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ing_vali2009 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26.Mar.2019 at 19:03
After a quick investigation, I can say that this issue could be a bug in AutoCAD (in both versions - for Mac and for PC): these lines appear in the viewport with a visual style other than 2D Wireframe when 3D Solids are extremely thin in comparison to its area.
Look here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/autocad-2007-2008-2009/quot-ghost-quot-lines-on-thin-3d-solids/td-p/19...

You can try to use SOLPROF workaround or create flatten view of 3D objects with FLATSHOT command than put the result to Layout.
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7003
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26.Mar.2019 at 22:55
It's a 2D not a 3D drawing so what is said in the above post is not relevant. 
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
martingtc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17.Jun.2016
Location: United Kingdom
Using: 2008LT
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote martingtc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16.Apr.2019 at 12:44
Bump to see if there is any update? Just printed off a brand new drawing and the same thing happens - Autocad add 'ghost' lines between 2 points of an arch that are not on the drawing, or pdf, but print only!
Back to Top
rebellio View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 04.Mar.2009
Location: Netherlands
Using: Autocad 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 117
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rebellio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17.Apr.2019 at 08:11
Hi,

I did the same thing as John...Printed the drawing several ways (model/paperspace).
No ghost lines here.....

It seems to me that it is a printer issue not an acad issue....

Back to Top
martingtc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17.Jun.2016
Location: United Kingdom
Using: 2008LT
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote martingtc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25.Apr.2019 at 10:59
Happened to me again yesterday - it seems that when I trim these lines, when printed they are back there, but not on screen!
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,238 seconds.