CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 3092 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Circular Building

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
BigSid View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19.Mar.2015
Location: United Kingdom
Using: AutoCad 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigSid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Circular Building
    Posted: 06.Nov.2019 at 12:51
Hi
Is there any way to get Inventor to generate a developed view of the wall of a circular building? We need a 2D drawing of the wall for installation of wall mounted equipment.
 
Thanks
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1117
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08.Nov.2019 at 10:48
Hello bigsid, internet should be your friend, see below but if you "unwrap" a cylinder surface maybe you will get only a rectangle.
What are the objects that you want to see, maybe the "impacts" of things fixed to that wall ?
Maybe you will have to do "holes" in that wall to get something when unwraped.


Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 08.Nov.2019 at 10:51
Back to Top
BigSid View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19.Mar.2015
Location: United Kingdom
Using: AutoCad 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigSid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Nov.2019 at 09:23
Hi
 
Thanks for the reply. I ended up just drawing it out. I need to show the electrical installers where the panels etc. are being mounted and our mechanical modellers did not know / said it couldn't be done.
 
Big Sid
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1117
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Nov.2019 at 11:35
Hello Bisid, if you want a solid to be unfolded it's got to be modelized in a way that it will be unfoldable.
For example a cylinder can be unfolded if you modelize the thickness and revolve it by 360° ( or 359.9999° on some softwares ).
If you just draw 2 circles on their base and extrude them with a certain height it's not unfoldable.


Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 19.Nov.2019 at 11:37
Back to Top
BigSid View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19.Mar.2015
Location: United Kingdom
Using: AutoCad 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigSid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Nov.2019 at 11:39
Hi Philiippe
 
I'm not sure how it was modelled as I don't use Inventor myself. I'll let our modellers know that technique.
 
Thanks
 
Big Sid
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1117
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19.Nov.2019 at 14:20
Hello again Bigsid, just an other information to unfold solids.
To get a correct unfolded object, for example a THICK cone with a "slash cut" that will give a flat sheet with bizare curves you
must use the "neutral fiber" and modelize the thickness equal/equal on each side of it and then when unfolding it say that it's not thikness 100 mm for example but 0.1 mm so that you will have a correct flat sheet.
I have experienced this when switching from 2D or 3D AutoCAD to Solidworks that was not giving correct results directly whith the "big" thikness.
Now there is the Cad studio free LISP UnwrapRS ( that I haven't used ) but I used to do it with all that I got in 3D with AutoCAD, see eventually the CAD tip N° 12237 - unfold 3D surfaces to 2D in AutoCAD.
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,078 seconds.