CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 1268 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Transforming coordinates into 2D profile

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Mezooo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13.May.2020
Location: Slovakia
Using: AutoCAD2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mezooo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Transforming coordinates into 2D profile
    Posted: 13.May.2020 at 15:43
Hello,

I've got a problem regarding getting points (to which I have the x,y,z coordinates) into a 2D profile drawing.

I am aware of the ViewCube option, however I already have a drawing of the profile with the correct proportions, I just need to insert the points (with the x,y,z coordinates) into the drawing.

So basically my question is whether is there some way to convert my inserted ponts from a 3D model (x,y,z) into a 2D model / profile (x,y) along a line (the points are situated in a straight line), for example the the line would be on axis x and the z would ber on axis y.

The specific coordinates of the points aren't important, just their relative distances from each other.

Thanks in advance 
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1185
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13.May.2020 at 18:55
Hello Mezooo, you can set in a 3D model an UCS conformably to your 3D profile to be like in 2D, copy ( Ctrl + C ) the points + the "2D like" UCS to have a reference and then set back the general UCS to paste the points + the "2D like" UCS to place then on a 2D view and the work only in 2D.
I suppose that the problem is working in 3D only for you or for your coleagues.
Hope this makes sence, I will do a manual sheme to explain this.
In any case 1 : If you work in 3D, always take a 3D point of view to work or use the OSNAPZ setting to the correct value to avoid any risk ( I will have to verify if it's (0) or (1) ).
In any case 2 : Beware of the points that you think being with Z=0 in your strictly aligned direction, this could lead to some problems when replaced in 2D ( items could not be with Z=0 exactly ).


Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 13.May.2020 at 19:00
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1185
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14.May.2020 at 10:11
Back to Top
Mezooo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13.May.2020
Location: Slovakia
Using: AutoCAD2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mezooo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14.May.2020 at 13:33
Hello Philippe,
thank you for your help, I've managed to solve the problem.
Turns out my problem wasn't that complicated, I just changed the UCS of the points in front view, copied and pasted them in the original 2D drawing, and they are distributed correctly.
Thanks again.
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1185
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14.May.2020 at 17:51
Yes Mezooo, if you can set an UCS to copy correctly your points that means that you have one horizontal line + one vertical line or 3 points to set it.
Then you can paste the points in a 2D drawing, or in the same 3D file.
Beware of the points that all look to be in the same UCS with Z=0 and are with a little Z different to zero, that could lead to some problem in 2D. 
From your first post : (the points are situated in a straight line)
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,063 seconds.