CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 2261 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Both .dwg and .bak files will not open

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
seanevans130181 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21.Aug.2018
Location: United Kingdom
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote seanevans130181 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Both .dwg and .bak files will not open
    Posted: 22.Dec.2020 at 08:46

Hi all,

 

Looking for someone to shed some light on a problem I have.  Completed a 3D assembly yesterday.  Saved it and a .bak file was created.  Came in this morning to a power cut.  However when I came open the file which are there and I can see the image of the assembly it just wont open.  I click and just a blank screen.  Any ideas?  Its for an assignment I need to get in or if someone could take a look for me.  I will be happy to loose everything on this drawing as long as my model space drawing is all good.

Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1226
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22.Dec.2020 at 10:04
Hello sean, of course you have to rename the XXX.bak file to XXX.dwg to open it.
You must have also the automatic save somewhere in your computer, ask how to search it if needed.
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/autocad/learn-explore/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Change-default-location-for-automatic-save-files.html


Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 22.Dec.2020 at 10:05
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1226
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22.Dec.2020 at 10:08
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,094 seconds.