CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 3441 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Topic Closedrecommend an easy to use program?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
gebb View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24.Mar.2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Direct Link To This Post Topic: recommend an easy to use program?
    Posted: 24.Mar.2008 at 18:57
I'm in the wrong end of the community pool here, I know.
 
But I'm hoping someone will indulge me with a quick spot of advice before sending me packing.

I'm retired and enjoy messing around on the laptop.  Occasionally I'd like to draw out and print something that includes lines and symbols and text boxes. 

Right now I simply want to draw a label for the front of a panel, about six inches square, that illustrates "water in" water out"  "temperature"  "pressure"  "idle time" and "run".    I'd like to put these texts on the label with lines drawn to the appropriate spots.   Filling in color in the background would be nice.   

All I have is MS Paint right now and even that is too complicated for this old guy!    I keep getting things lost behind "layers" and things get resized, and I can't judge true dimensions,  and the text "boxes" are a nightmare to use.    I downloaded a freeware CAD program, probably the simplest one available, and it was still too steep  a learning curve or such simple needs. 

Any suggestions?   Anything genuinely, extremely, simple to use out there?  No layers.  No 'snap to'.  No learning curve?

Thank you very much.
Back to Top
bcbenton View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 11.Mar.2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 45
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24.Mar.2008 at 19:47
Try Autodesk's PROJECT DRAW.  It is an online drawing program.  It is very basic, very simple and can draw to scale.  Here is a link:

http://labs.autodesk.com/technologies/draw/

Best thing is that it is free.  I hope this helps.

Oh yeah, once to this site, click on the big green button at the top that says TRY IT.

Enjoy
For AutoCAD Tips & Tricks
CAD-a-Blog
Back to Top
gebb View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24.Mar.2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26.Mar.2008 at 19:49

Thank you bcbenton.  

I tried Project Draw, but unfortunately I don't have a 100percent reliable wireless connection.   It's fine for my own use, but irritating as all get out for using web based programs.  Response time is spotty for me.  

I downloaded and tried "Diagram Designer 1.20"                         

Once again, I got very frustrated with its interface.  Kept getting lost in 'layers' and couldn't seem to manipulate objects intuitively.

I then downloaded a program called "Dia" at http://www.gnome.org/projects/dia/

...and was up and running with it within ten minutes.  I'm no expert, which is entirely the point.  No doubt, it's the immediately intuitive ease of use of this program that would show it's limitations to expert demands pretty quickly.   But for me it was astonishingly easy to use.   While it indeed does have layers funtionality, they respond so well to such simple commands that I'm actually able to use them without enrolling in a community ed tutorial!
 
....just in case anyone else blunders in here with a similar request.
 
And thanks again.


Edited by gebb - 26.Mar.2008 at 19:57
Back to Top
Arben.Allaraj View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Nov.2007
Location: Albania
Using: AutoCAD 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 602
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27.Mar.2008 at 11:14

 

 Maybe try to use Microsoft Visio?

Ing Arben.Allaraj
http://cad-drafting-corner.blogspot.com
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,063 seconds.