CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 3548 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Topic Closed3D Tunnel Model

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
john1951 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16.Mar.2012
Location: United States
Using: autoCad 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Direct Link To This Post Topic: 3D Tunnel Model
    Posted: 16.Mar.2012 at 10:04

Hello

I need to create a 3D Model of a tunnel in AutoCad.  I think that the  tunnel should be made of 1 or more surfaces, and that a 3D polyline 

should be the center line of the tunnel.  The 3D pline should be composed of lines and arcs, with the arcs tangential to the lines, like the center line of a road.  

I also need to determine the shortest distance between any x y z point inside the tunnel model, 

and the nearest wall (surface) of the model.

I have experimented with SWEEP using a straight 3D pline and a semi-circle.  The first problem is that snap to nearest does not work as expected on the swept surface, it only snaps to certain lines on the surface.  The second problem is that I don't know if it is possible to create a 3D polyline as described, like a road centerline.


Thank you

John

Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7087
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17.Mar.2012 at 17:32
Why 3Dpolylines?  What exactly are you constructing?  Why surfaces and not solids?
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
john1951 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16.Mar.2012
Location: United States
Using: autoCad 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17.Mar.2012 at 21:28
Hello
Thanks for writing back.  I need a 3D model of a tunnel in national grid coordinates.  I need to model surfaces because I want to connect a laptop to a surveying instrument so that when I measure a point inside the tunnel while it is being constructed, I can compare the measured point to the design surface.   In order to see if the tunnel has reached design location at any measured point.  The model does not have to be based on a 3D polyline, but tunnel and road design is generally based on such a line.  I am beginning to think that it may be necessary to use AutoCad Civil 3D.  I would prefer to use AutoCad, if it is possible.

Thank you
John    
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7087
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17.Mar.2012 at 22:09
I think you would be better off using Civil 3D.
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,047 seconds.