CAD Forum - Database of tips, tricks and utilities for AutoCAD, Inventor and other Autodesk products [www.cadforum.cz]
Czech English Deutsch
Login/Register:
 Visitors: 3533 
RSS tips RSS channel - CAD tips
RSS discussion RSS channel - CAD discussion

Discussion Discussion forum

HelpCAD discussion

CAD Forum - Homepage CAD discussion forum - ask any CAD-related questions here, share your CAD knowledge on AutoCAD, Inventor, Revit and other Autodesk software with your peers from all over the world. To start a new topic, choose an appropriate forum.

Please abide by the rules of this forum.

How to post questions: register or login, go to the specific forum and click the NEW TOPIC button.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

The information that you provide in this form will make up your forum profile which can be viewed by other forum members. Your email address will only be visible by forum admin and moderators and will be used to send you Forum Notifications. To cancel your account, use the page Opt-out or contact webmaster@cadforum.cz.

Scale

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Lexville View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06.Jan.2018
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 33
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lexville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Scale
    Posted: 27.Sep.2018 at 21:46
Hi Guys.
I need help on my project.
I have a drawing in model space which is 1:1 and I want to plot it in 1:50 scale.
I already add scale 1:50 and change the paper size to 8.5 X 11 . my units is in meters.
anybody out there to help me
Thanks
ADV
Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1006
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28.Sep.2018 at 07:31
Hello Lexville, so you want to print your file from the model space...
You say you added scale 1:50 and change paper size to 8.5 x 11; I suppose from the plot dialog box or the page set up manager...
You just need to specify a printer/plotter, the plot area, the plot style table and the drawing orientation; eventually clic on the preview button and it's OK.
Eventually you can memorize these parameters in the AutoCAD file by cliking on the button : Apply to Layout.


Edited by philippe JOSEPH - 28.Sep.2018 at 07:33
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6934
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28.Sep.2018 at 12:02
Why aren't you plotting the drawing at the imperial scale of 1"=50'?  
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
Lexville View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06.Jan.2018
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 33
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lexville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28.Sep.2018 at 20:56
thanks
ADV
Back to Top
Lexville View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06.Jan.2018
Location: United States
Using: Autocad 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 33
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lexville Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Oct.2018 at 21:34
My Problem I cant plot my drawing to 1:50 scale. Please see attached uploads/760641/new_drawing.dwg
ADV
Back to Top
John Connor View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01.Feb.2011
Location: United States
Using: AutoCAD 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 6934
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Connor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02.Oct.2018 at 21:43
I find it odd that you drawing is metric but that you reference the paper size you wish to plot to in inches.  

Are you printing directly from model space or will you be using a paper space layout?

Are you trying to print all three floor plans on a single sheet or will it be one floor plan per sheet?

Update

I created a layout and specified a A4 paper size with a portrait orientation.  I then created a viewport and applied a scale to it that would give me a reasonable view, and ultimately a reasonable print out, of the floor plan on the far left.  Unfortunately the only scale that seemed to work in this case was 1:.05 not 1:50.  Did you draw your floor plans "to scale" as one might do manually on a drafting board?  50 divided by .05 = 1000.   1000mm = 1m.  Hmmmm.......very interesting don't you think?


Edited by John Connor - 02.Oct.2018 at 22:25
"Humans have a strength that cannot be measured. This is John Connor. If you are reading this, you are the resistance."

<<AutoCAD 2015>>

Back to Top
philippe JOSEPH View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 14.Mar.2011
Location: France
Using: AutoCAD Mechanical 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1006
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote philippe JOSEPH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03.Oct.2018 at 07:51
Lexville + John, I have placed in the CAD/BIM Blocks library here in the site the file : new_drawing_PJH.dwg.
I have placed in the model space formats ANSI "A" to "E" on the right and I have "bordered" the 3 areas "229" , "234" and "235".
We can see that the area "229" needs to be re-worked to "enter in the format but maybe only the dimensions have to be moved.
I have open in 3 layouts viewports for ease of printing.
Tell me/us if this helped or not.
Back to Top
chyutt View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27.Aug.2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote chyutt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07.Nov.2018 at 11:11
THANK
Back to Top

Related CAD tips:


 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0,078 seconds.